A cybersecurity framework is a set of guidelines, policies, and best practices that organizations can use to manage and mitigate cybersecurity risks within their systems and network. As cyberthreats are becoming more sophisticated, understanding these cybersecurity frameworks, and implementing the relevant ones is crucial for organizations of all sizes.

Here is a list of some of the most essential cybersecurity frameworks developed to help organizations, including the government, is safeguarding their digital assets:

  • Critical Security Controls (CIS): These controls are a collection of best practices for enhancing cybersecurity posture and area constantly being evolves by thousands of cybersecurity experts worldwide.
  • Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies (COBIT): This framework designed for IT governance that assists business in adopting, overseeing, and enhancing best practices in IT management.
  • CSA Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM): This control framework is for cloud computing and includes 197 control objectives across seventeen domains. This matrix is helpful for cloud implementations and in configuring the allocation of security controls throughout the supply chain.
  • HITRUST CSF: This certifiable framework offers organizations and efficient method for managing compliance with regulations and standards and risk management. Beyond delivering the necessary framework, it also offers clarity, guidance, and connections to authoritative sources, enabling organizations worldwide to ensure compliance with any data protection regulations.
  • ISO/IEC 27001:2022: Global standard for information security management systems (ISMS). This standard offers comprehensive guidance for any size business across various sectors on establishing, implementing, maintaining, and consistently improving their information security management system.
  • NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF): This framework helps bridge together both internal and external parties and helps organizations either initiate or enhance their cybersecurity programs.
  • Katakri: Originated from Finland’s National Security Authority and was designed to ensure that the target organization maintains sufficient security measures. The goal is to prevent the exposure of classified information from an authority in all settings where data is processed.
  • Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS): The security standard for managing credit card information from major card issues. The goal is to enhance the management of cardholder data and minimize credit card fraud.
  • Standard of Good Practice (SOGP) for Information Security: Offers practical and reliable guidance on business-focused information security topics, including best practices, policies and procedures, risk management, and compliance frameworks.
  • Secure Controls Framework (SCF): The Secure Controls Framework (SCF) is based around internal controls, encompassing cybersecurity and data privacy-related policies, standards, procedures, technologies, and all related processes. These frameworks are to help achieve business objectives. Also useful in preventing, detecting, and rectifying unwanted events.

Implementing appropriate cybersecurity framework and meeting your compliance regulation obligations is key to the future success of your business. If you have not yet taken the necessary steps to accomplish this, let the expert team at 2W Tech help. We have in-house expertise to help your business safeguard your business and data and meet your compliance needs.

Read More

Microsoft Copilot Expands its Availability

Reasons to Upgrade Epicor Kinetic – Part 1

Reasons to Upgrade Epicor Kinetic – Part 2

Back to IT News